Mobile Menu
campus scene, winter, students, John Kelly photo

English Department

With more than 50 full-time faculty representing six fields, we are the largest academic department on campus. Our size and our diversity allows us to offer students a unique experience to learn about, get involved with, and explore career choices in their areas of interest. We are proud to foster a supportive learning and teaching community inclusive of both students and faculty. [read more]

  • COAS award_Jacky resize 2

    Jacky O’Connor, Recipient of COAS Award

    Professor Jacky O'Connor received the 2015 College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Faculty Award for overall excellence in research, teaching, and service.

  • MFA Reading Series, Eric Torres Photos

    Visiting Distinguished Professor, Denis Johnson, Reading

    Denis Johnson taught the MFA fiction workshop that is the core course in the MFA program fall semester 2015. He also read from his work in the Student Union Simplot Ballroom.

  • Pierre Joris_slider

    Pierre Joris is Visiting Professor

    Pierre Joris has published some 50 books of poems, essays & translations. He is the author-in-residence at Boise State University for spring semester 2016.

  • idaho review

    New Issue of Literary Journal Features Joyce Carol Oates, T.C. Boyle

    This special fiction issue of The Idaho Review includes work from Joyce Carol Oates, Ann Beattie, T.C. Boyle, Rick Moody, Susan Straight and Ron Carlson. It's available at the campus bookstore.

  • ashtanga review_slider

    Ahsahta Press Tops Poetry Best-Seller List

    Ahsahta Press, the nonprofit poetry press housed at Boise State, is once again dominating the best-seller list maintained by Small Press Distribution.

  • Kelsey Lawton and Sam Sturman, English, Photo by Allison Corona

    ‘The Write Class’ a National Model for Placing Students

    Heidi Estrem, Dawn Shepherd, and Samantha Sturman, created The Write Class, an online evidence-based tool that matches students to the English writing class in which they’re most likely to flourish.

  • First Year Writing Award Recipients, for Deanna Jones, Wankun Sirichotiyakul Photo

    First-Year Writing Program honored with the 2015 Award for Innovation

    Presented by the Council on Basic Writing, the award recognizes writing programs for innovations that improve student success through creative approaches that may be extended to other institutions.

Events & Readings

  • Jan 31 2016

    Attend Reading on February 10

    Jerome Rothenberg is an internationally celebrated poet, translator and performer with over ninety books of poetry

  • Jan 14 2016

    Attend Reading on February 19

    Peter will be reading from his acclaimed translations of the 19th century French poet Stéphane Mallarmé,

  • Jan 13 2016

    Attend Lecture on March 3

    Attend a lecture entitled Messy Rivers are Healthy Rivers. Ellen Wohl, Professor, Department of Geosciences, Colorado State

  • Jan 12 2016

    Attend Lecture on March 17

    Professor Emeritus, Department of History, University of Kansas, will discuss John Muir and the Religion of

  • Jan 11 2016

    Attend Lecture on April 14

    Attend Laurel Thatcher Ulrich’s lecture entitled Adventures in a Natural History Museum. Ulrich is a 300th

Student Organizations & Activities

Stay Connected