Mobile Menu


Martin Corless-Smith
Martin Corless-Smith was born and raised in Worcestershire, England. He has studied painting and poetry, with degrees from the University of Reading, Southern Methodist University, the Writers Workshop at the University of Iowa and a PhD from University of Utah. His fifth collection, English Fragments A Brief History of the Soul was published by Fence Books in November 2010. He was the 2011 recipient of a Boise State Foundations Scholar Award in Research.

Janet Holmes
Poet and editor of Ahsahta Press since 2000, Holmes is author of The ms of my kin, F2F, Humanophone, The Green Tuxedo (winner of the Ernest Sandeen award at University of Notre Dame Press, Foreword Book of the Year Award, and the Minnesota Book Award), and The Physicist at the Mall, which Joy Harjo selected for the Anhinga Prize. Her poems have twice been chosen to appear in editions of The Best American Poetry. She is the recipient of numerous fellowships and prizes, including the Pablo Neruda Prize from Nimrod Magazine, selected by W.S. Merwin. She holds an MFA from Warren Wilson College and a BA from Duke University.

Brady Udall
A recipient of many awards and fellowships, Udall received his MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. His widely anthologized stories and non-fiction have been published in journals and magazines such as Story, Esquire, GQ and The Paris Review. He is the author of a short story collection, Letting Loose the Hounds, and a novel, The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint, which was an international bestseller and translated into more than twenty languages.

Mitch Wieland

Mitch Wieland was born in Dover, Ohio. He has lived in Seattle, Los Angeles, San Diego, Tuscaloosa, and Tokyo, Japan. Wieland holds an MFA from The University of Alabama, and once served as fiction editor of Black Warrior Review. Wieland is currently a full professor at Boise State University, where he has taught for fifteen years. One of the founders of Boise State’s MFA program, he was its director for four years. Wieland founded The Idaho Review in 1998. Wieland is the author of Willy Slater’s Lane and God’s Dogs. Willy Slater’s Lane received starred reviews in Publisher’s Weekly and Booklist, and was optioned for a film. The New York Times called the novel “immensely moving.” God’s Dogs was named the Idaho Book of the Year in 2010, and was featured in the Best of the West 2009 prize anthology. God’s Dogs was also a finalist for the 2010 John Gardner Fiction Book Award, and was cited as a Book of the Year by New Wieland’s short stories have appeared in The Best of the West, The Southern Review, The Kenyon Review, The Yale Review, TriQuarterly, The Sewanee Review, Shenandoah, StoryQuarterly, Prairie Schooner, and other publications. Wieland is the recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Christopher Isherwood Fellowship, and two Literature Fellowships from the Idaho Commission on the Arts. As a Boise State University Arts and Humanities Fellow, he is currently working on a novel set in Japan. He lives in Boise with his wife Cynthia, an artist, and his son Benjamin, the drummer in the rock band, Jumping Sharks.