Skip to Main Content

Contact Us

students walking through crowd

Boise State University English Department
Liberal Arts Building, Room 228
Office: (208) 426-3426
Fax: (208) 426-4373
english@boisestate.edu

Physical Location
1874 University Drive
Liberal Arts Building, Room 228

Mailing Address
1910 University Drive
Boise ID 83725-1525

Map and Directions

Need to find us? Click here for an interactive campus map.

Key Points of Contact

See below for key points of contact throughout the department. For additional contact information, see our complete faculty directory or learn more about our faculty and our staff.

Advising Coordinator

Tiffany Hitesman – englishadvising@boisestate.edu
As the Advising Coordinator for the English Department, Tiffany is an expert on a wide variety of topics, such as English transfer equivalency, Study Abroad, earning a second undergraduate degree, academic appeals, and academic adjustments.

Associate Coordinator

Jeff Westover – englishadvising@boisestate.edu
As the Associate Coordinator for the English Department, Jeff is the person who assigns students to their permanent faculty advisor, and helps students with questions about English transfer equivalency, making a class schedule, or with academic appeals and adjustments.

Peer Advisor

Holly Neyer – englpeeradvisor@boisestate.edu | Mon & Wed 9 am – 1 pm
As the Peer Advisor for the English Department, this position is the first point of contact for required advising, general advising questions, helping students build class schedules, and help completing academic adjustments and appeals.

Boise State Writing Project

Dr. Jeffrey Wilhelm, Co-Director of Boise State Writing Project, jwilhelm@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7077
Dr. Jim Fredricksen, Co-Director of Boise State Writing Project, jimfredricksen@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7084

Departmental and Administrative Matters

Maya Duratovic, mayaduratovic@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4238

Department Chair

Dr. Michelle Payne, Department Chair, mpayne@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4190

English Language Support

Dr. Gail Shuck, ESL Coordinator, gshuck@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-1189

English Teaching

Jim Fredricksen, jimfredricksen@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7084

First-Year Writing Program

Dr. Heidi Estrem, Director of First-Year Writing, heidiestrem@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7073
Dr. Dawn Shepherd, Associate Director of First-Year Writing, dawnshepherd@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4263
First-Year Writing Program’s Office Manager, fywp@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4209

Internships

Dr. Jeffrey Westover, jeffreywestover@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-1232

Linguistics

Dr. Gail Shuck, Director of Linguistics, gshuck@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-1189

Literature

Dr. Matthew Hansen, Director of Literature, matthewhansen@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-1215

M.A. in English Literature and M.A. in Rhetoric and Composition

Dr. Tom Hillard, Director of M.A. in English, thomashillard@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-2991

The Mary Ellen Ryder Linguistics Lab

Dr. Michal Temkin Martinez, Director, The Mary Ellen Ryder Linguistics Lab, michaltmartinez@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4236

Rhetoric and Composition

Dr. Bruce Ballenger, Director of Rhetoric and Composition, bballeng@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7609

Technical Communication

Dr. Roger Munger, rmunger@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-4211

Website Questions or Feedback

Shauna Anderson, Email: shaunaanderson1@boisestate.edu

Writing Center

Questions, appointments, and assistance: writing@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-1298, writingcenter.boisestate.edu
Dr. Clyde Moneyhun, Director of the Writing Center: clydemoneyhun@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-3585
Melissa Keith, Assistant Director of the Writing Center: melissakeith@boisestate.edu, (208) 426-7028