Skip to Main Content

MFA Reading Series

Free and open to the public, the MFA Reading Series brings renowned writers to the Boise State Campus.

Spring 2017 Schedule of Events

  • Julie Carr, Friday, February 24th, 7:30 p.m., BSU- SUB – Bergquist Lounge, 1700 University Dr., Boise
  • Joy Williams, Thursday, March 30th, 7:30 p.m., BSU-SUB Lookout Room, 1700 University Dr., Boise
  • Kazim Ali, Friday, March 31st, 7:30 p.m., JUMP – Loft Room , 1000 W. Myrtle, Boise, ID 83702
  • Allison Cobb, Friday, April 7th, 7:30 p.m., BSU- SUB – Bergquist Lounge, 1700 University Dr., Boise

John Beer Reading

Past readers

Robin Coste-Lewis, John Beer, Vincent Toro, Habib Tengour, Pierre Joris, Osama Alomar, Faiza Sultan, Jerome Rothenberg, Peter Manson, Farid Matuk, Susan Briante, Harold Ackerman, Denis Johnson, Rajia Hassib, Anne Boyer, Lance Phillips, Cole Swenson, Laura Moriarity, Jessica Anthony, Alan Halsey, Geraldine Monk, Kent Nelson, Pierre Joris, Robert Boswell, Jena Osman, Leslie Jamison,  John Godfrey, Ben Percy, Clark Coolidge, Jacqueline Mitchard, Susan Schultz, Alyson Hagy, Joshua Marie Wilkinson, Mathias Svalina, Ben and Sandra Doller, Charles Baxter, Julie Doxsee, Abraham Smith, Charles Bernstein, Forrest Gander, Juliana Spahr, Brian Henry, and Ales Steger, Michael Palmer, Fanny Howe, William Giraldi, Joy Williams, Tyler McMahon, Jennifer Moxley, Dan Beachy-Quick, Cathy Park Hong, Graham Foust, Brad Watson, Michael Earl Craig, Ben Lerner, Daphne Gottlieb, Bhanu Kapil, and Amy De’Ath, Bernadette Mayer, Gabriel Gudding, Myung Mi Kim, Renee Gladman, and Cathy Wagner, Mei Mei Berssenbrugge, Lyn Hejinian, Leslie Scalapino, D.A.Powell, Rebecca Woolf, Peter Gizzi, Liz Waldner, Elizabeth Willis, Peter Riley, Keston Sutherland, J.H.Prynne, Trevor Joyce, Robin Blazer, Alice Notley, Tom Raworth, Clayton Eshelman, Timothy Donnelly, Karen Volkman, C.S.Giscombe, G.G.O’Brien, Andrew Joron, Nathaniel Mackay, Rae Armantrout, Donald Revell, Claudia Keelan, G.E.Patterson, Hoa Nguyen, Dale Smith, Julie Doxsee, India Radfar, Maggie Nelson, Lee Ann Brown, Carol Snow, Lisa Robertson, Erin Moure, Oana Avasilichioaei, Maxine Chernoff, Paul Hoover, Joshua Beckman, Sasha Steensen, Bin Ramke, amongst others.
Podcasts of many of the Series readings are available at PennSound (These files may not be fully accessible to all users. For accessible files please contact our department at

For More Information

Contact Maya Duratovic: or 208-426-4238.

News & Announcements

  • Ahsahta Press, directed by Janet Holmes, saw three of its seven 2015 publications land on Best of 2015 lists. Read Maureen McLane's review of Anne Boyer's Garments Against Women in the New York Times Book Review.
  • MFA program director Mitch Wieland's short story "Snow Angels" appeared in the summer issue of The Missouri Review. The story, set in Tokyo, is an excerpt from Strange You Never Knew, his novel in progress.
  • In April, Professor Martin Corless-Smith published his sixth book, a new novel titled This Fatal Looking Glass from SplitLevel Texts.