Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Faculty & Staff

Dr. Heidi Estrem
Heidi Estrem is the Director of First-Year Writing. She leads faculty development workshops, develops curriculum for the first-year writing program, teaches first-year writing classes and the graduate seminar for new teaching assistants, and coordinates the assessment of the first-year writing program. Her research interests include TA education and mentoring, composition pedagogy, and other aspects of writing program administration.

Dr. Dawn Shepherd
Dawn Shepherd is Associate Director of First-Year Writing. She coordinates the program’s Professional Development Workshop Series, facilitates the Projecting Learning, Understanding Success (PLUS) Program, and teaches first-year writing classes as well as courses in the undergraduate writing emphasis and the graduate concentration in rhetoric and composition.  Her research interests include rhetoric and digital media, rhetorical criticism, critical cultural studies, and writing program administration.

Ms. Samantha Sturman
Samantha is an instructor in first-year writing and the Placement and Assessment Program Manager for the First-Year Writing Program. She works closely with incoming students, advisors, and administrators as the on-site coordinator for The Write Class, and helps to coordinate ongoing research and initiatives in the program.

For a complete list of instructors, including office location and contact information, visit the English department’s faculty directory.